Jaguar I-Pace Concept image

Jaguar I-Pace Concept wears red for its debut in Europe

The era of the weird electric cars is ending. An indication of this turn is Jaguar, which will make the debut of the I-Pace Concept in Europe. Okay, it’s still a concept, but it already carries the final look of what will be the brand’s first all-electric vehicle. Shown for the first time in Los Angeles, the I-Pace Concept will be showcased at the Geneva Motor Show with a very different painting: a striking red color.

Jaguar I-Pace Concept image
Jaguar I-Pace Concept interior

The British manufacturer promises that the production version will hit the market in early 2018 and will have attributes of a smart car, five seats and sporting performance. According to the data released so far, the I-Pace will be able to accelerate from 0 to 96 km /h in about 4 seconds. Even though it is designed with the shapes of a crossover, its aerodynamic coefficient of 0.29 is worthy of a refined sedan.

Jaguar I-Pace Concept image
Jaguar I-Pace Concept view

Combining the crossover model with fully electric propulsion technology is a very important project for Jaguar – in fact, brand designer Ian Callum describes I-Pace as the “most important” model since the iconic E-Type.

Jaguar I-Pace Concept image
Jaguar I-Pace Concept detils

The truth is that, more than a crossover, the Jaguar I-Pace has won a tailor made platform and in its production version, will have a battery of 90 kWh, similar to that found in the Tesla X P90D. The liquid-cooled batteries will be positioned on the floor, which will result in a low center of gravity and maximum autonomy in the 500- kilometer house with a single charge through the NEDC cycle.

Jaguar I-Pace Concept image
Jaguar I-Pace Concept image view

The I-Pace has a set with two electric motors, one for each axle, that produce combined power of 400 hp and torque of 71.3 kgfm.

Speaking of production, I-Pace will not be manufactured in the UK, at least initially. Instead, the electric SUV will leave Magna Steyr, the world’s largest supplier, in Austria. Jaguar Land Rover CEO Ralf Speth said he could even produce it in the UK if the local government invested £ 450 million to support car companies to build In the country.

Leave a Reply

